Press "Enter" to skip to content

The Retriever

Baltimore for the bored

For students stuck on campus, the city is a gold mine By Tahsin Khan Senior Staff Writer tkhan3@umbc.edu It’s true, we are not a party…

Nation and World

Ahmed Eissa Senior Staff Writer aeissa2@umbc.edu France President Francois Hollande announced on Thursday that France would support Iraq’s requests for air support and that France…

Where’s the nearest metro station?

Amanda Quinn Contributing Writer Quinn1@umbc.edu Daily life in Russia can be slow and entangled in bureaucracy and red tape, but public transportation here by far…

SGA Senate Confirmations

Key SGA positions filled reflect a more united student organization Manisha Vepa Contributing Writer mvepa1@umbc.edu            During the summer, and especially over the past few…

UMBC’s IRC gets its BEARINGS

The Imaging Research Center creates a map of 1815 Baltimore Nimasha Fernando nfernan1@umbc.edu Summary: The UMBC IRC’s work was displayed at the Star-Spangled Spectacular event,…

A retriever tea party

Tea Empire’s first meeting of the semester Jamie Heathcote Staff Writer heatjam1@umbc.edu Summary: Though not a university-recognized group, Tea Empire attracts a crowd of warm…

Maze Runner takes audience on a full marathon

This new book to movie proves to be much more than just a maze Holly Vogtman Staff Writer hollyv1@umbc.edu Summary: A young man named Thomas,…

Garden project promises sustainability

Breaking Ground’s Garden project launches volunteer planting and details further expansion Henry Strand Contributing Writer strandh1@umbc.edu Summary: The Garden welcomes volunteers to work towards sustainability…

Star spangled spectacular

Maryland Celebrates National Anthem Bicentennial Brittany Meyer Staff Writer bmeye1@umbc.edu “O! Say can you see,” that Maryland became nationally known last week for the bicentennial…

UMBC=Unique Man Brings Change

Brandon Foster Staff Writer brafos1@umbc.edu Summary: Chris J. Harried, an aspiring educator and junior political science major, creates change through his involvement across campus. What…

A quiet place for 46 years

The AOK Library has gone through many different changes Andrew Mayn Contributing Writer amayn1@umbc.edu Summary: The library is one of the most popular buildings on…

Rage Creates Outrage for Viewers

A bad movie made worse with another acting attempt from Nicolas Cage Holly Vogtman Staff Writer hollyv1@umbc.edu Summary: Rage is a film that centers on…