Press "Enter" to skip to content

NSF Research Fellows, Goldwater Scholars, and a Carnegie Fellow

UMBC alums chosen as NSF Graduate Research Fellows

Five UMBC almuni were chosen to receive Graduate Research Fellowships from the National Science Foundation for the 2016 year. Nicholas Rogers (’15),  Akua Nimarko (‘15), Abigail Jackson (‘15), Hythem Sidky (‘11) and Abraham Beyene (‘08) all were among those awarded to the three-year program, which supports students pursuing graduate studies in STEM fields. The Honors College, in its announcement regarding the news on myUMBC, stated that “the high number of UMBC students and alumni who receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowship awards demonstrates national recognition of the quality of a UMBC education.”

UMBC students named Goldwater Scholars

Chemical engineering majors Daniel Ocasio, Naomi Mburu and Andreas Seas were named to the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program for the 2016-2017 period. The program works to help develop high-level professionals in mathematics, scientists and engineers. All three recipients plan to pursue careers in research.

History professor named Carnegie Fellow 

History professor Kate Brown received a research fellowship from the Carnegie Corporation of New York as part of the Andrew Carnegie Fellows Program. Brown will study the effects of post-meltdown nuclear radiation on human health, focusing on the Chernobyl disaster. Brown is one of 33 scholars recognized for humanities and social sciences research as part of this year’s cohort.