Press "Enter" to skip to content

Posts published in “Opinions”

Group work makes the group hurt

Team-based learning only works in an ideal world By Aviva Zapinsky Contributing Writer avivaz1@umbc.edu According to many professors, team-based learning is more effective than lecturing.…

Mandated academic advising: a tedious formality

Why this misguided practice needs to go By Gideon Shrier Contributing Writer gshrier1@umbc.edu UMBC has required academic advising for years – but does the policy…

UMBC should pull the trigger

Trigger warnings encumber deep discussion By Sara Khan Contributing Writer khan17@umbc.edu  A movement to have “trigger warnings” has been spreading rampant among colleges and universities.…

Warnings Trigger a Better Classroom Experience

Trigger Warnings create a safer experience for students sensitive to disturbing materials By Holly Vogtman Staff Writer hollyv1@umbc.edu Trigger warnings are making their way to…

The Emerging Identity of UMBC

UMBC stands out; let’s keep it that way By Allison Opitz Contributing Writer opitz1@umbc.edu Homecoming week always makes students wonder where the spirit is, and…

Students can’t catch Retriever Fever

Lack of advertising for homecoming leaves students disengaged from its festivities By Holly Vogtman Staff Writer hollyv1@umbc.edu Lack of advertising for Homecoming has left the…

A Climate Change Protest at UMBC?

Ashby Henningsen Asst. Editor, News ahenni1@umbc.edu Despite being a major movement in the climate change movement, major news networks failed to give the New York…

To Work or Not to Work?

That is the Question By Aviva Zapinsky Contributing Writer avivaz1@umbc.edu For many students working part-time jobs is a question of necessity, but balancing the course-load…

STEM women try to advance in a man’s world

UMBC needs to better support STEM undergraduate females By Tahsin Khan Senior Staff Writer tkhan3@umbc.edu Although UMBC is a STEM powerhouse, they should do more…

Baltimore for the bored

For students stuck on campus, the city is a gold mine By Tahsin Khan Senior Staff Writer tkhan3@umbc.edu It’s true, we are not a party…